Separation and Purification Technology is a journal dedicated to the dissemination of novel methods for separation and purification in chemical and environmental engineering for homogeneous solutions and heterogeneous mixtures. This includes any separation and/or purification of liquids, vapors and gases, with the exception of methods intended for analytical purposes. Soil science, polymer science and metallurgy are outside the scope of the journal.
Separation and Purification Technology welcomes contributions focused on experimental studies and theoretical analyses of phenomena associated with and arising from separation and purification as well as process development and simulation, equipment design and fabrication. Preparation and modification of materials used in separation and/or purification operations can be considered if the intended separation and/or purification is an essential part of the work rather than a tool for characterization of a material. Such new materials should allow for separations that cannot be achieved with existing materials; alternative materials for e.g., adsorption are not sufficiently novel.
Contributions should be always related to new or improved separation methods or principles; applications are welcome provided that they are not a direct implementation of known separation methods. Of particular interest are articles aimed at solving separation problems encountered in the emerging technologies including fields such as biotechnology, biobased feedstocks/products, green technology, energy storage and conversion, and resource recovery and recycling. Authors who wish to contribute a review paper should send an abstract and manuscript outline to one of the Editors prior to submission of the full paper. Review papers should be written by an author with proven expertise in the field, and provide a critical assessment of the state-of-the-art in a specific topic related to novel approaches in separation and purification.

Editorial board


  • Bart Van der Bruggen
    KU Leuven Science and Technology Group Department of Chemical Engineering, Heverlee, Belgium


  • R. Aires-Barros
    University of Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
  • Guohua Chen
    Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Kowloon, Hong Kong
  • André de Haan
    TU Delft, Delft, Netherlands
  • Guangsheng LUO
    Tsinghua University State Key Laboratory of Chemical Engineering, Beijing, China
  • Bandaru Ramarao
    SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, Syracuse, New York, United States
  • Paul Webley
    University of Melbourne, Dept. of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Parkville, Victoria, Australia

Editorial Board

  • Francisco Alguacil
    National Center for Metallurgical Research, Madrid, Spain
  • Renbi Bai
    National University of Singapore, Singapore, Singapore
  • Xueming Chen
    Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China
  • Liangyin Chu
    Sichuan University, Chengdu, Sichuan, China
  • Tai-Shung (Neal) Chung PhD
    National University of Singapore Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Singapore, Singapore
  • Joaquin Coronas
    University of Zaragoza, Zaragoza, Spain
  • Adil Denizli
    Hacettepe University, Ankara, Turkey
  • Enrico Drioli
    IRMERC-CHR,Inst. on Membrane & Modelling of Chem. Reactors,Università della Calabria, Arcavacata di Rende, Italy
  • Xianshe Feng
    University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
  • Tingyue Gu
    Ohio University Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Athens, Ohio, United States
  • Ahmad Fauzi Ismail
    University of Technology Malaysia School of Chemical & Energy EngineeringAdvanced Membrane Technology Research Centre, Johor Bahru, Malaysia
  • Zhongyi Jiang
    Tianjin University, Tianjin, China
  • Ruey-Shin Juang
    Chang Gung University, Taoyuan, Taiwan
  • Simon Judd PhD
    Cranfield University Cranfield Water Science Institute, Bedford, United Kingdom
  • Wallace Leung
    The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Dept. of Mechanical Engineering, Hong Kong, China
  • Huizhou Liu
    Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China
  • Patricia Luis
    Catholic University of Louvain, Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
  • Ana Margarida Nunes da Mata Pires de Azevedo
    University of Lisbon Higher Technical Institute, Lisboa, Portugal
  • Manuel Andres Rodrigo
    University of Castilla-La Mancha, Ciudad Real, Spain
  • Alirio Rodrigues
    University of Porto, Porto, Portugal
  • Yan Sun
    Tianjin University, Tianjin, China
  • Anthony Szymczyk
    Rennes 1 University, Rennes, France
  • Hooman V. Tafreshi
    Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, Virginia, United States
  • Dominique Thomas
    University of Lorraine, Nancy, France
  • Costas Tsouris
    Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tennessee, United States
  • Mathias Ulbricht
    University of Duisburg-Essen Department of Technical Chemistry II, Essen, Germany
  • Eugene Vorobiev
    University of Applied Sciences for Technology Compiegne, Compiegne, France
  • Minghua Zhou
    Nankai University, SEA Center, Tianjin, China