The Journal of Membrane Science provides a focal point for academic and industrial chemists, chemical engineers, materials scientists, and membranologists working on membrane systems.

The journal publishes original research and reviews on membrane transport, membrane formation / structure, fouling, module / process design, and processes / applications.

Primary emphasis is on structure, function, and performance of non-biological membranes; papers bridging the gap with biological membranes are also appropriate.

The Journal of Membrane Science publishes Full Text Papers, State-of-the-Art Reviews, Letters to the Editor, and Perspectives.

Reviews: should not only summarize the key research contributions in a field, they should also provide critical evaluation of the scientific literature. Review papers are intended to provide archival guidance and direction for the broad membrane community and are thus held to the highest standard for publication.

Perspective articles: should provide a focused discussion of an important area of membrane science and technology, emphasizing recent developments, future challenges, and/or new opportunities. Perspective articles will be by invitation only, and they will be reviewed by at least one Editor of the Journal and one member of our Advisory or Editorial Board.

Authors interested in submitting a Review Article or Perspective paper should contact one of the Editors prior to submission to discuss the scope and appropriateness of the proposed contribution.

Endorsed by the Aseanian, European and North American Membrane Societies.

Editorial board


  • Andrew Zydney
    Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pennsylvania, United States


  • Pierre Aimar
    University of Toulouse, Chemical Engineering Department, Toulouse, France
  • Michael D. Guiver PhD, MSc BSc
    Tianjin University State Key Laboratory of Engines, Tianjin, China
  • Wanqin Jin
    Nanjing Tech University, Nanjing, China
  • Young Moo Lee
    Hanyang University, Seongdong-gu, Korea, Republic of
  • Jerry Y. S. Lin
    Arizona State University, Tempe, Arizona, United States
  • Andrew Livingston
    Imperial College London, London, United Kingdom
  • Hideto Matsuyama
    Kobe University, Kobe, Japan
  • Rong Wang
    Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, Singapore
  • Matthias Wessling
    RWTH Aachen University, Aachen, Germany

Founding Editor

  • Harry Lonsdale †

Emeritus Editor

  • William Koros PhD
    Georgia Institute of Technology School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Atlanta, Georgia, United States

Advisory Board

  • Richard Baker
    Membrane Technology and Research Inc, 39630 Eureka Dr, Newark, California, CA 94560, United States
  • G. Belfort
    Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Dept. of Chemical Engineering, 110. 8th Street, Ricketts Building, Troy, New York, NY 12180 - 3590, United States
  • Tai-Shung (Neal) Chung PhD
    National University of Singapore, Dept. of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, E5-02-31, 4 Engineering Drive 4, 117585, Singapore, Singapore
  • Enrico Drioli
    IRMERC-CHR,Inst. on Membrane & Modelling of Chem. Reactors,Università della Calabria, Via P. Bucci 17/C, c/o UNICAL, I - 87030, Arcavacata di Rende, Italy
  • Anthony Gordon Fane
    Nanyang Technological University, 639798, Singapore, Singapore
  • Congjie Gao
    State Oceanic Administration, The Development Ctr. of Water Treatment Technology, 50 Wenhua Road, 310012, Hangzhou, China
  • William Koros PhD
    Georgia Institute of Technology School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Atlanta, Georgia, 30318, United States
  • Juin-Yih Lai
    Chung Yuan Christian University, Department of Chemical Engineering, R&D Center for Membrane Technology, 3203, Chung Li, Taoyuan, Taiwan
  • Takeshi Matsuura
    University of Ottawa, Ottawa, K1N 6N5, Ontario, Canada
  • Donald Paul
    University of Texas at Austin, Dept. of Chemical Engineering, 200 E. Dean Keeton, Stop CO400, Austin, Texas, TX 78712, United States

Editorial Board

  • Mihail Barboiu PhD
    European Membrane Institute UMR5635 Adaptive Supramolecular Nanosystems Group, Montpellier, France
  • Vicki Chen
    UNSW Australia, New South Wales, Australia
  • Joao Crespo
    New University of Lisbon Faculty of Science and Technology, Caparica, Portugal
  • Menachem Elimelech
    YALE UNIVERSITY, New Haven, Connecticut, United States
  • Eric Favre
    Reactions and Chemical Engineering Laboratory, Vandoeuvre Les Nancy, France
  • Xianshe Feng
    University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
  • Benny Freeman
    University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Texas, United States
  • Lidietta Giorno
    Institute of Membrane Technology, Rende, Italy
  • Winston Ho
    OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, Columbus, Ohio, United States
  • Zhongyi Jiang
    Tianjin University, Tianjin, China
  • Simon Judd PhD
    Cranfield University Cranfield Water Science Institute, Bedford, United Kingdom
  • Yong Soo Kang
    Hanyang University College of Engineering Department of Chemical Engineering, Seongdong-gu, Korea, Republic of
  • Sandra Kentish
    The University of Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Kueir-Rarn Lee
    Chung Yuan University Department of Chemical Engineering, Taoyuan, Taiwan
  • Kang Li PhD
    Imperial College Department of Chemistry, London, United Kingdom
  • Glenn Lipscomb
    UNIVERSITY OF TOLEDO, Toledo, Ohio, United States
  • Shaomin Liu PhD
    Curtin University Chemical Engineering, Perth, Australia
  • Jeffrey McCutcheon
    University of Connecticut, Storrs, Connecticut, United States
  • Seung Hyeon Moon
    Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology, Gwangju, Korea, Republic of
  • Kitty Nijmeijer
    University of Technology Eindhoven, Eindhoven, Netherlands
  • Richard Noble
    University of Colorado Boulder, Boulder, Colorado, United States
  • Suzana Nunes
    King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Thuwal, Saudi Arabia
  • Klaus Peinemann
    King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Thuwal, Saudi Arabia
  • Ingo Pinnau
    King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Thuwal, Saudi Arabia
  • José Sanchez-Marcano
    European Membrane Institute, Montpellier, France
  • Kamalesh Sirkar
    New Jersey Institute of Technology, Newark, New Jersey, United States
  • Chuyang Y. Tang PhD
    University of Hong Kong Department of Civil Engineering, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Toshinori Tsuru
    Hiroshima University, Higashihiroshima, Japan
  • Mathias Ulbricht
    University of Duisburg-Essen Department of Technical Chemistry II, Essen, Germany
  • Bart Van der Bruggen
    KU Leuven Science and Technology Group Department of Chemical Engineering, Heverlee, Belgium
  • Haihui Wang
    South China University of Technology, Guangzhou, China
  • Zhi Wang
    Tianjin University, China
  • Hans Wijmans PhD
    Membrane Technology and Research Inc, Newark, California, United States
  • Tongwen Xu
    University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei, China
  • Zhikang Xu
    Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China