Water Research
Welcome to the online submission and editorial system for Water Research.

Water Research publishes refereed, original research papers on all aspects of the science and technology of water quality and its management worldwide. A broad outline of the journal's scope includes:

  • Treatment processes for water and wastewaters, municipal, agricultural and industrial, including residuals management.
  • Water quality monitoring and assessment, based on chemical, physical and biological methods.
  • Studies on inland, tidal or coastal waters and urban waters, including surface and ground waters, and point and non-point sources of pollution.
  • The limnology of lakes, impoundments and rivers.
  • Solid and hazardous waste management, including source characterization and the effects and control of leachates and gaseous emissions.
  • Environmental restoration, including soil and groundwater remediation.
  • Analysis of the interfaces between sediments and water, and water/atmosphere interactions.
  • The application of mathematical modelling and system analysis techniques.
  • Public health and risk assessment.
  • Socio-economic studies.

Biologists, chemical engineers, chemists, civil engineers, environmental engineers, limnologists and microbiologists.

Editorial board


  • Mark van Loosdrecht
    Department of Biochemical Engineering <br /> Delft University of Technology <br /> KWR Watercycle Research <br /> Delft <br /> Netherlands


  • Jean-Claude Block
    Université de Lorraine, Villers les Nancy, France
  • Ana Deletic
    UNSW Australia, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
  • David Dixon
    University of Melbourne, Parkville, VIC, Australia
  • Hiroaki Furumai
    The University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
  • Xiaodi Hao
    Beijing University of Civil Engineering and Architecture, Beijing, China
  • Gregory Korshin
    University of Washington, Seattle, Washington, USA
  • Eberhard Morgenroth
    Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science & Technology (EAWAG), Dübendorf, Switzerland
  • Maria Reis
    Universidade Nova de Lisboa (Lisbon), Caparica, Portugal
  • Hang-Sik Shin
    Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), Yuseong-Gu, Daejeon, The Republic of Korea
  • Thomas Ternes
    Federal Institute of Hydrology, Koblenz, Germany
  • Stefan Wuertz
    Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, Singapore
  • Zhiguo Yuan
    University of Queensland, Queensland, Australia
  • Julie Zilles
    University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, Illinois, USA

Associate Editors

  • Andy Baker
    University of New South Wales, Manly Vale, New South Wales, Australia
  • Damien Batstone
    University of Queensland, St.Lucia, Queensland, Australia
  • Cao Bin
    Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Treavor H. Boyer
    Arizona State University, Tempe, Arizona, USA
  • Guang-Hao Chen
    Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong, China
  • Rob Eldridge
  • Monica Emelko
    University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
  • Ramesh Goel
    The University of Utah, Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
  • Stephen Gray
    Victoria University of Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Peter Hillis
    AECOM, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Peter Jarvis
    Cranfield University, Cranfield, Bedfordshire, England, UK
  • Gunter Langergraber
    University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences Vienna, Wien, Austria
  • Qilin Li
    Rice University, Houston, Texas, USA
  • Shang-Lien Lo
    National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan, ROC
  • Jun Ma
    Harbin Institute of Technology, Harbin, China
  • Dionisis Mantzavinos
    University of Patras, Patras, Greece
  • Yoshihiko Matsui
    Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan
  • Armand Maul
    University of Lorraine, Metz, France
  • Max Maurer
    Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science & Technology (EAWAG), Dübendorf, Switzerland
  • David McCarthy
    Monash University, Clayton, Victoria, Australia
  • How Yong Ng
    National University of Singapore, Singapore, Singapore
  • Adrian Oehmen
    Universidade Nova de Lisboa (Lisbon), Caparica, Portugal
  • Jong Moon Park
    Pohang University of Science and Technology, Pohang, Gyeongbuk, The Republic of Korea
  • Ameet Pinto
    Northeastern University, Boston
  • Susan Richardson
    University of South Carolina, Columbia, South Carolina, USA
  • Miquel Salgot
    University of Bacelona, Barcelona, Spain
  • Masahiro Takahashi
    Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan
  • Nathalie Tufenkji
    McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Kai Udert
    Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science & Technology (EAWAG), Dübendorf, Switzerland
  • Vayalam Venugopalan
    BARC Facilities, Tamil Nadu, India
  • Han-Qing Yu
    University of Science and Technology of China (USTC), Anhui, China